If you know of any others that we’re still missing, please leave a comment and let us know.
The big debate of the day. The Giant’s Victor Cruz fell down, then intentionally let go of the ball because he thought the play was over. However, having not been touched the Cardinals, he wasn’t actually down. The refs decided that he “gave himself up”, making the play dead, but that’s controversial.
The rule states:
An official shall declare the ball dead and the down ended… when a runner is out of bounds, or declares himself down by falling to the ground, or kneeling, and making no effort to advance.
It doesn’t seem that Cruz fell down intentionally, and he certainly didn’t kneel, so did he give himself up? Here’s a video of the play:
What do you think? Did Jerome Boger and his crew make the right call?