Did Wilbur Hackett Jr. intentionally tackle SC QB Stephen Garcia

There is a lot of talk about bad calls from this past weekend, but the play getting the most attention is when umpire Wilbur Hackett Jr. collided with South Carolina quarterback Stephen Garcia.  Depending on who you ask, it was either intentionally and very inappropriate, or it was just an unfortunate collision.

The SEC, along with SC coach Steve Spurrier, have cleared Hackett of any wrongdoing.  When I saw the play live, it looked that way to me as well.  If someone was coming at me, instinct would be to raise my arm and deflect the blow.

However, slow-motion replays tell a somewhat different story.  They make it look more like it was intentional, so I don’t know what to think.

The video is below.  What do you think?